My Week 5 Picks: NFL


I went 2-1 last week, second week in a row. 4-2 (.667 win percentage) over a 2 week span is impressive for a gambler. Remember, all gamblers have streaks — some high, some low. I missed on the Vikings for Pick of the Week. What was  thinking? McNabb is done. Bring on Christian Ponder. Weren’t te Vikings in the NFC title game just 21 months ao? That was when #4 was playing, though.

We’re 4 weeks into the season with no Peyton Manning, Brett Favre, Randy Moss and/or Terrell Owens. Unreal.

My Early Leans

Seattle @ New York Giants (-9.5)

Eli Manning is on pace for his best season yet. I know, I know…that is not saying much. He has a higher passer rating than Drew Brees, more accurate than Matt Ryan and has less picks than Tom Brady. Seattle needs a lot of work and that is putting it nicely. I think I can name 3 players from the team, one being Pete Carroll. I like the G-Men 27 – 9.

Arizona @ Minnesota (-3)

How is Minnesota faored? They shouldn’t be favored playing a Division II school. They are horrible. I really thought Arizona was going to e better than this, but so far, they have looked pretty bad. This will be a lose game between tw ad teams, but I like the Cards 20 – 16.

Chicago @ Detroit (-5)

Detroit’s first Monday Night Football game (October 8, 2011)  since I was a Freshman at Ferris Sate University in Big Rapids, MI and Osama Bin Laden was just becoming a household name.  It seems like just yesterday. Living in the dorms, sleeping through my 11:00 class and learning how to do laundry…ah, that was the life. I would love to be in downtown Detroit on Monday night. I would not be surprised if the roof blew off Ford Field. The Lions are coming in riding a 12-0 streak (including preseason), one of only 2 undefeated teams (Green Bay being the other), a healthy/confident quarterback and the best wide receiver to play the game in years, in Calvin Johnson. Jay Cutler has been beat up this year and I see the same thing happening with Detroit’s D-Line. That place is going to be loud and Detroit will improve to 5-0 after a 24 – 17 victory.

Season Record: 6-5-1

Pick of the Week Record: 1-2-1

Money Won/Lost: $44.00

One Response

Comments are closed.